Happy Mouth

I’ve been told, on more than one occasion, that the key to making home schooling and life in general successful is to have a plan. That’s what I’ve been doing a lot lately. Planning. EVERYTHING. Plan all the things!!!

I’m a cook. I mean, I absolutely LOVE to cook and, not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty dang good at it. So what could I love more than a website that provides me with meal plans with incredible recipes (haven’t had a bad one yet), shopping list included? Well, some things come to mind but this is pretty high up there! The Unmeasured Scoop is, well, AWESOME!!!! We eat vegetarian about 60-70% of the time due to cutting cost here and there. This website is perfect for those of you that might eat a lot like us. The meat dishes that are offered are typically lean and still pretty veggie packed. For instance, I made some turkey mini-meatloaves last night loaded with spinach, carrots, and mushrooms. Monster A and Cody devoured theirs. Monster S, well, let me make a list of what she will eat. That will only take a second. Tonight was a chicken dish, Skinny Sesame Chicken with brown rice. We used asparagus with ours. There are no leftovers. That doesn’t happen often at our house. We’re all full and happy and I don’t have to find room in the fridge to stuff more storage containers. WHOO-HOO!!! Monster S even ate some of her chicken, Lord be praised! She even said <gasp> that it was good! The great thing is that all the recipes and shopping list are absolutely FREE! I bet that got your attention. You do have to subscribe by using an email address, but I haven’t seen any emails from the site since I subscribed. There are about 12 plans with 5-6 recipes each (we always have leftovers once or twice a week.) The shopping lists are affordable and the items attainable without using many processed items at all, if at all. I don’t need to make a million shopping trips for the items on the list. In fact, the commissary has had everything we’ve needed so far. Now, for those of you that don’t know, your selection can be a little limited at the commissary sometimes depending on how small your base is. Ours isn’t exactly the largest base around.

Anyway, as I get the hang of things, I may even start adding some recipes of my own to this blog. Right now I’m loving The Unmeasured Scoop since a.) we just moved and I’m still establishing a routine and b.) it’s just so dang easy.

Disclaimer: I have received no payment or services in kind for blogging about this site. I just want to help people by alerting them when I find good resources. 

Leave a Reply

