Rainy days and Mondays…and a new reading program

Alright it’s not a rainy day and typically rainy days make me happy anyway. However, the Monday part is really gettin’ me down today.

The kids were gone last week. They went to my grandparent’s house in Southern Oklahoma. Grandparents = they got whatever they wanted. So getting back in the swing of things today was rough. Getting them to understand that they have responsibilities here was even more rough. It was late when we got in since we made the five hour trek from Minneapolis, where they flew in. That being said, EVERYONE was EXHAUSTED! I decided to alter our schedule for today based on whenever they woke up and got around. So we got started about an hour late which made me feel rushed all day long. I’m a type A personality. I need structure. I NEED a schedule! And I NEED to stick to it! I also felt like we had so much to make up from them being gone for a week…and we do. I sent a little bit of work for Monster A (math and some spelling/reading worksheets) but not a whole lot got done, which I didn’t expect it too. It’s going to be a long week, playing catch up.

Also, Cody is going to be leaving soon so I want to make sure we’re taking advantage of the time with have with him before he’s off on an “adventure”…yeah, that’s what we’ll call it. Getting ready for his first “adventure” is also stressing me out. But we’ll be okay. Always are.

We’re also trying out a new reading program…next week. We were going to start it this week and I am really excited about it, but I’m going to hold off until we’re back to what passes for normal around here. It’s called “Reading Reflex: The Foolproof Phono-Graphix Method for Teaching Your Child to Read” by Carmen and Geoffrey McGuiness. Honestly, I picked up this book from the library, not expecting much but hoping to get some pointers for my children who aren’t quite getting the phonics thing. This book makes total sense to me. It’s main premise is that letters don’t have any purpose outside of words and that letters don’t make sound. They are a symbol of the sound. Once we got past that this morning, which didn’t seem to take long, they were on a roll. (I did try to do a little bit today just to see how they responded to it.) I really think it looks promising. It explains that phonics requires a TON of memorization and is really only applicable to about 40% of words, e.g. the word “rain.” Yeah, that particular<a> makes a long “a” sound. So, we memorize <ai> makes a long “a” sound. What about captain, mountain, fountain, chaplain, etc.? We then have to memorize the rules for that, except phonics offers no rule for that situation, it only states that it’s an exception and never explains why. Makes sense, right? NO!!! Anyway, fantastic idea and I hope that I can implement it well. If it doesn’t work, well, back to the drawing board but the reviews are good enough to at least try it out. It’s a full curriculum and you can find it for around $10 on Amazon. May not be for everyone, but it certainly resonated with me while I was reading it. 

Well, y’all, it’s going to be an early bedtime around here. I know I’ll be met with complaints (which they normally go to bed with no problem at all) but if it makes for a better tomorrow I’m willing to do whatever!

I may post a recipe in a little bit however. Because this amazing tuna noodle casserole I’m eating right now deserves it!

Leave a Reply

