An American Classic: Tuna Noodle Casserole

I’m not sure why, but I can never spell “casserole” correctly. Anyway…

I love tuna. I love egg noodles, and cream cheese, and mushrooms. So this was perfect and very easy for a crazy day! The kids feasted on Kraft Mac & Cheese (I’m not winning any parenting awards tonight and I don’t care. Seriously, zero craps given.) I think Monster A would have eaten the casserole, but he was hungry and the orange powder goodness was done much more quickly and apparently was calling his name. Oh well, more for me!!!! Cody has calc tonight so it’s a long day for him. I think he’ll like it and if not, well, he can eat a sammich, and still more for me!!! This stuff is good. I don’t want to share. It’s easy enough I could probably make more. We’re kind of a tight budget this week since we’re “bracing ourselves for winter is coming” and the coats you need for living close to “the wall” or ya know, the Canadian border, are ‘spensive, so this is pretty budget-friendly! But here it goes… my soon-to-be world (my house is now the world?) famous TUNA NOODLE CASSEROLE (sorry for the cruddy pic. Maybe some day I’ll have one of those fancy schmanzy cameras.)

photo (1)Ingredients

8oz cream cheese (I used the bar form, but you could probably use the tub kind too. Perhaps even the whipped kind.)
1/3 c. milk
1 t. Garlic Powder
3 c. wide egg noodles, cooked according to package
2 – 5oz. cans of tuna packed in water, drained and flaked
1 c. frozen peas (I should have only used 1/2 c – 3/4 c, but I probably need the peas anyway.)
4 oz. can of mushrooms, drained
2 T grated parm cheese
8-10 Crackers (I only had the Toll House Flatbread Crisps and they worked fantastically!)
2 T butter (just use the real stuff), melted

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 while cooking noodles.
2. Combine cream cheese, 2T milk, and the garlic powder in a small bowl. It doesn’t have to be smooth as the hot noodles will help it melt a bit.
3. Drain the noodles and add the tuna, peas, mushrooms, and the remaining milk. Stir together. Add the cream cheese mixture and mix gently. 
4. Spoon the mixture into a 2 – qt. greased dish. Cover with foil  (or if you’re like me and out of foil, a baking sheet. It works the same. I may never buy foil again) and bake for 20 mins.
5. Mix together the melted butter, parm cheese, and crackers to make a crumble of sorts. 
6. Top casserole with the cracker mixture and return to the over, uncovered, for 5-7 mins. or until the cracker mixture is golden brown.

Seriously, so easy-peasey and it tasted incredible. I was in some need of some comfort food tonight and this hit the spot. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

